Skip to content

Pet Product Reviews: The Bissell Pro-Heat Steam Vac

September 19, 2011

I love my dog. I do. I really really do. I have a blog about her for goodness sake. I do not, however, love the messes she makes sometimes. I don’t. I really really don’t.

Arie doesn’t have many accidents of the potty variety anymore…we out grew those a long time ago. What she does have, however, is a giant tail that can clear a coffee table in less than three seconds. That, combined with a height that allows her to reach up on counters to find even more liquids and stain worthy items, and we have a problem.

We also now have a solution.

Let me introduce you to my new bestest friend ever: The Bissell Pro-Heat Upright Deep Cleaner. Plus, for the first time, let me introduce you to my home, and why I love the amazing nature of the Bissell Pro-Heat Upright Deep Cleaner.

bissell proheat upright deep cleaner

The newest sexy beast in our house...Trust me, there's a lot of competition.

It’s football season. And fall. Unfortunately, in my house, the former seems to dominate the latter, as my significant other spends ample time glued to the TV, screaming like a Neanderthal. Fall is my favorite season, and the special time of year where I catch the entertainment bug and start planning parties and dinners and what not and want to have people over, bake cookies, and have my place smell like pumpkin everything.

pumpkin and candles on buffet

This is my idea of fall decor. Warm rich tones and of course, pumpkins.

 

fall flowers and white german shepherd

Of course, we can't have personal photos without featuring the starring White German Shepherd, right?

 

mum with falcons flag

This is how I let my significant other enjoy fall decor as well: Game day flags for the Falcons.

Needless to say, on Sunday, game day was here, and we were ready to have friends come and watch his team, The Atlanta Falcons, go after the Philadelphia Eagles (What more appropriate forum than a dog blog to discuss Mike Vick and epic failure? Go Falcons!) The place was looking a little Martha Stuart-esque (enter mums, fall decor items, and a pumpkin) when I took a look at the carpets. No bueno. Little spots from cat litter (If you use the clay and have carpet, you know of what I speak) and human stains (we’re clumsy humans and spill things) could be seen in various areas of the house. Our newest purchase, the Bissell, was about to come to the test.

This power machine was easy to assemble and easy to use. I’m very sensitive to bringing chemicals in la casa–We usually use only 100% natural cleaners–but for the carpet, I made an exception (and just went over each area with plain water afterwards to help clean out the cleaner). After putting the vac together and adding in the cleaner and hot water (SO easy) I went through our entire place and scrubbed that carpet like crazy, and even took the time to do the bathroom rugs and the kitchen mat. The dogs were in their crates (to protect their paws from chemicals) and the cats took a wonderful fall vacation in the garage (with toys, food, water, and litter of course). We ran to the store to grab food, and let the carpet dry.

We came back home to clean carpet that was dry, fresh smelling, stainless, and soft. We couldn’t have asked for better results. We bought the carpet cleaner for around $130 at Target (It was on a big sale). That, together with the Pet Stain & Odor Advanced Formula Cleaner for the machine for $20 left us at a total of about $150 plus tax.  The last time we got our carpet cleaned professionally it was $99 for three rooms and a hall, which would leave us one small room leftover. In just two cleanings, the new carpet cleaning machine will have paid for itself, and will continue to do so afterwards.

So, in my first pet product review, I give you a strong recommendation for the Bissell Proheat Upright Deep Cleaner. Feel free to ask questions in the comment section on my experience with it.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 12:35 pm

    It is great to know there is a product out there that will clean carpets inexpensively (after the initial investment of course!) Our stains tend to come from someone who sometimes has a sensitive stomach and I still can’t get those stains out!

    Saving up for a carpet cleaner. 😉

  2. September 20, 2011 8:19 pm

    I really like this one, Jodi. We’ve had it for just a few weeks, but I’ve used it twice–Once just to treat a spot and another to clean the apartment. Both made me love the deep cleaner more. 🙂

Leave a comment