Skip to content

A Dog Inspired Reading List For Banned Books Week

September 20, 2011
banned books week

Get your mind out of the gutter and into a book...which, in the case of this list, some people may think is the same thing. Photo via press kit for BBW

46CBJK64GBWA I love to read. Arie likes to chew on things while I read, so I assume she likes reading, too. Banned Books Week is one of my favorite celebrations all year, as it is a week for the public to defiantly read a book (or several) that was placed on a ban for some reason or other. Banned Books Week celebrates freedom of expression and the right to knowledge for everyone, as well as flies in the face of censorship. Banned Books Week will kick off on September 24th, so be sure you’re ready with these animal-involving titles:

animal farm

One of my all-time favorites, Animal Farm, is on the banned list. Photo via Amazon.

  • Animal Farm, George Orwell. While the animals stand as symbols for people involved in the Russian Revolution (one of the periods I loved most in History), they are still animals. This is one of my favorite classics as well, and Arie loves visiting the farm when I go see my family, so I’m going to assume she loves Orwell too.
  • Jaws, by Peter Benchley, because killer sharks need love too.
  • I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Maya Angelou. It says bird. Embrace it.
  • Lord of the Flies, William Golding. The book discusses humanity’s inner animals, so it makes the list.
  • The Chronicles of Narnia, C.S. Lewis. I love the story and what it symbolizes, but I loved it growing up for the talking animals and fantastic land that focused on a ginormous lion.
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, by Mark Haddon. We all want to catch whoever is behind cruelty to an animal.
Which banned books would you add to the list?

46CBJK64GBWA

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 12:36 am

    Great list!

    I would add “Beautiful Joe”, by Marshall Saunders. It’s narrated by Joe, and is rather Black Beauty esque, and talks about the kind treatment of animals, prior to 1900! In fact, I think I’ll give it a re-read for next week, if I can find my copy.

  2. September 22, 2011 6:53 pm

    Really great choices.

Trackbacks

  1. Books are Meant to Be Read, Not Banned | Books in the Burbs

Leave a comment